Beer grain Rye bread

So I tried the country rye bread recipe in the Tartine book. I have 4 different kinds of grain from brewed beer and I wanted to taste each of them in rye bread.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I started with a leaven. I mixed bread flour, warm water and some of my sourdough starter together and let it sit out for a while. It took a little while, about 5 hours, but it started bubbling.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I tried the float test and it passed! I love the float test, it’s so easy to tell if the yeast is ready that way.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I stirred in the leaven into the warm water.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Then added the dry ingredients.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I let it rest for an hour so the flour could absorb the water then added the salt.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I cut it into 4 pieces and mixed in the 4 types of beer grain; chocolate cherry porter, belgian, hefeweizen and liberty ale.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Then for 3 hours I stretched and folded the dough every 30 min until it felt aerated.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The balls were so sticky, I tried forming them into shape.. but I don’t know if I was successful. I had to use a lot of flour so I could play with it on the table. I shaped them a couple of times until they looked like balls. I really need to get a pastry knife for easier shaping.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I stuck them in the fridge overnight.  They rose a little bit.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I let them sit until the chill was off them. They sorta kept their shape but deflated slightly.

I stuck them in the oven and baked them until they were dark brown, with a little pan of water to steam the oven.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

It was a good flavour. The chocolate grain has a roasted flavour. The liberty had a sweet and sour flavour, that was my favorite. The other two, belgian and hefeweizen, tasted about the same and didn’t contribute a big flavour change.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Two things I need to try. The crumb of my rye bread was very airy, lots of holes but the texture was strange. When I touched the crumb, it would stick to my finger. It was chewy, sorta rubbery but was still good to eat. Also it didn’t hold a nice round shape, and pancaked a bit. So I might try kneading it more, maybe the crumb will be slightly different.

I just got myself a Dutch Oven and a pastry knife, so hopefully those will help me! The dutch oven will keep the steam in, helping the crust and crumb. And the pastry knife is for shaping the dough into balls, to make the skin retain more tension for a nicer crust.


This entry was posted in Baking, Beer related, Rye and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

