Raisin Bread

So it’s been a while since I’ve posted. It’s been pretty hectic over the past month but I’ve gotten back into baking!

Before I got my new camera I baked some awesome Sourdough bread from my book Bread Baker’s Apprentice. It’s too bad I couldn’t get any pictures.  I actually I had to head out a couple of times in the process of making this bread, so it took about 3 days with two 8 hour sittings in the fridge. The sourdough flavour stood out more with those sitting I think. I’ll try again later. But I had the urge to eat some toasted raisin bread smothered in butter.. so using my new camera, I’ve documented what I could. I haven’t gotten used to this camera yet, I may have some fuzzy pictures…

I used the recipe from The Bread Baker’s Apprentice; and so I can’t post the recipe but I think most raisin breads are made this way.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The dough is like a white bread with milk, egg and butter (buttermilk is an option too but don’t warm it up). It gives it a nice light crumb for toasting. Also cinnamon is added to the dough of course!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Once it’s all kneading, you can add the raisins and walnuts; kneading them in evenly.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You don’t need to make the cinnamon swirl in the middle, but I love that extra cinnamon sugar. I rolled it out about in inch thick, buttered it up a little and added the cinnamon sugar (1/2 cup sugar + 2 tbsp cinnamon). I only added about half of that because it looked like a lot, but when toasted I could barely taste it. So don’t be scared and add the whole thing! I also included a tsp of cardamom, love that spice.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

It should rise above the rim of the baking pan. When I baked it, it didn’t pop up more than when I put it in there unfortunately. But it still tasted awesome!


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

In the book, it also suggests that right after baking you can butter the top and roll it in cinnamon sugar. I might try that next time too..

This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast, Sweet and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

