Cake pops

Wow. I let October slip away and posted nothing! Shame on me! Well it has been hectic with the new puppy and all.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

But back to posting!  This isn’t really bread, but I thought it was an interesting idea. I’ve been looking at this blog Bakerella, and she does some cute work. I really liked the look of her cake pops. Though surprisingly I’ve found them all over the internet now and actual stores that sell them. I guess they’re pretty popular. Well, they are tasty and cute, so of course they would be popular. This picture is from the Bakerella site. I’m too lazy to take a picture of my book..


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

My first attempt did not go well.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I found the recipe on this site. So I decided to try it, looked easy..

I rushed it and didn’t cool down the cake enough. Also I guessed at the amount of icing mixed into the crumbled cake, and I guessed too much!


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

They didn’t harden well in the freezer and turned into a gooey mess. And I couldn’t find any lollipop sticks so I cut a bunch of straws. They’re a little flimsy and slippery..not the best.

But they still tasted good!

My second attempt turned out real well!


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I did buy the book though, that might have helped too.. Though hers do look much better.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I made the cake recipe from the book (you can also use cake mix, basically the same) and cooled it in the fridge. It crumbled easily when cooled.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Then I mixed in only a 1/4 amount of the icing into a 1/4 of the cake (just normal icing almost like the ready-made icing) because I just wanted to make 12 pops instead of 48.  They were perfect! Stuck together really well and hardened nicely (in the freezer for 15min).


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

While they hardened I melted some candy wafers for the coating. Just don’t read the ingredients, the candy wafers don’t sound appetizing afterwards.. but I guess most candies are made that way.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
I also melted some green candy to make the tops. I just piped it out onto parchment paper and let it sit for a while so it hardened again. That doesn’t take long, maybe 5min.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Then I found some leftover styrofoam (from some appliance) and stuck the lollipop sticks in; making pre-made holes.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

When the cake balls were ready, I dipped the lollipop sticks into the candy coating, inserted it half way into the cake balls then dipped the balls in. Usually I couldn’t get all the candy coating on and used a spoon to coat the rest. Then I spun it around while tapping it on the edge of the bowl to get the excess candy off.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I finished it off with sugar pearls for the strawberry seeds and topped them off with the green candy topping. Then stuck them back into the styrofoam to harden.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

They turned out awesome. But man, talk about a sugar rush. It was almost tooo sweet for me. Next time I might try dark chocolate to lessen the sweetness. The only problem is, you can’t have different colours.

I am definitely giving these out for Christmas!

This entry was posted in Baking, No yeast, Sweet and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

