Wet bread

So this first experiment was somewhat a failure. I wanted to make a bread with more air holes and a thicker crust. I thought if the dough was wetter, that might be it!

I used a little sourdough starter and a white bread recipe.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
It was way too wet. I couldn’t knead it at all..

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

And then I let it rise to form a loaf. It turned into a pancake..

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

But there were lots of holes! No thicker crust though. Must be the steam that does it.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Well, onto the next experiment!

This entry was posted in Baking, Wheat and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wet bread

  1. Nicole says:

    Actually, the finished product looks pretty good in the photo. How’d it taste?

  2. tsaint says:

    It did taste good but it was almost a rubbery crumb texture than a fluffy one. It toasted really well!

  3. I think sourdough should be chewy and toothsome rather than soft and fluffy. Try making a slightly less wet dough and give it some support as it rises (a proving basket is a good plan), and you should be good.

    • tsaint says:

      I agree! I like sourdough chewy and toothsome. But the crumb is almost sticky, gummy.. I’ve never encountered that before.. but I’ve never tried really wet dough. I will be posting soon a rye bread I tried with less wet dough, however it turned out the same way.. maybe I’m not kneading it enough.. oh, I’ll try your basket suggestion next time!

Leave a Reply

