1st year anniversary + one day!

UPDATE ! OK so my husband didn’t want to read my whole blog post and told me to put the rules for winning the prize at the beginning. So here I am.

If you want to win my giveaway (which is a surprise), please post a comment about your favorite bread and a winner will be randomly selected! Deadline is June 24th at noon ET.

Well it’s been a year since I put up this blog and a day. I still can’t believe it! Hmm not sure what to do on a first anniversary post. Sort of exciting though I did miss it by a day… He’s not very excited.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I got myself this cool antique bread mixer, let’s say for the 1st anniversary post. (Technically I got it a couple of weeks ago but this makes it more justified.) It’s called the Number 4 Universal Bread Maker by Landers, Frary & Clark of New Britain, Connecticut. You can almost see it..

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

It has writing on the top, looks like ingredients and instructions.. I have to clean mine sometime. It has a hand crank to mix dough, a clamp so you can mix on the table without moving the whole pail, and then you can remove the crank and let the dough rise inside.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I couldn’t pass it up. It’s designed to make the home maker’s  lives more convenient and won a gold medal in 1904 at the Louisiana Purchase Exposition. There’s even people who still use it. I’ll try it out.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So I was spent a little on myself. How about I spend a little on you! I’m feeling generous. I’ll give away a surprise gift, something to do with bread. Could be a pan, could be some jam, could be a book.. I guess you’ll just have to wait and see!

To win this magnificent prize, just post a comment about your favorite bread! Then I’ll randomly select the winning comment. Don’t forget to leave your email address so I can contact you! 

UPDATE – you don’t have to pick one of my breads, just any bread you like!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The deadline is noon ET, June 24th. A little long, but trying to give a chance to every person commenting. 

Thanks for reading!

This entry was posted in Baking, random and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 1st year anniversary + one day!

  1. your mom haha says:

    My favorite bread would be the bread that has the mozzarella on it 😉 cause I really want that mozzarella. Any of your breads would be my favorite!

  2. Maureen says:

    My all time favourite is a heavy raisin bread called “Trappers Bread” from the Laura Secord cookbook published in 1966. It’s great to take canoe camping- moist, lots of fruit and molasses so it keeps for a long time, although it can be a bit sweet if you don’t reduce the sugar called for.

  3. Ryan says:

    I gotta say fresh rye bread with caraway seed in it 🙂
    you know the one. maybe some meat spread on it or used for a smoked meat sandwich

  4. Kathryn says:

    Mmmm, maybe a real Montreal Fairmont bagel. Does that qualify as bread? With Lox and cream cheese and onions and capers!
    I have to say though all of your breads look pretty tasty.

  5. dusty says:

    Wonder bread, for sure. Or maybe those cheddar and bacon biscuits you made.

  6. OK, I’m going to get shot for this.
    Hard hoagie rolls or for you non Pennsylvanians – sub rolls. The locals just call them Conshy rolls which sounds more Chinese then Italian. From the Conshohocken Italian Bakery just outside of Philadelphia.
    http://www.conshybakery.com/
    http://www.conshybakery.com/products
    From their site: “This makes a mean sandwich.”

  7. Kristen says:

    Pumpernickel is my favorite bread. You can find yummy pumpernickel bagels at Jo Mama’s in Orleans, but I bet they’re not as good as ones that you could bake! A new blog article idea, perhaps?

  8. Andrew says:

    Well there is a fresh light rye that metro of all places makes.,.. it is quite good, and convenience is a plus so that would be my 3rd place, it also lasts a long time, which helps as I don’t usually eat a lot of bread. In the #2 spot one of my favourites is definitely the portugese rolls at Parma Ravioli, crusty and slightly chewy on the outside, moist and delicious on the inside.. awesome with butter and raspberry jam or as a sandwich, they ahve to be eaten almost immediately because even a day later they lose a lot of appeal.
    Art-Is-In bread is probably my #1 favourite right now, they sell it at ottawa bagel shop and a lot of restaurants and shops all around Ottawa now – its pretty awesome, but its probably half olive oil and therefore not really suitable to eat every day. If you have not tried it Dar, let’s go check it out next time you’re up for a visit 🙂

  9. sketchball69 says:

    The best bread in the world is pumpernickel.
    did I win the prize??

  10. Matt says:

    I like sourdough rye with fennel seeds, or any sourdough with a good sour flavor. Been meaning to try making bread with spent grain from brewing though…

  11. Stephanie L. says:

    SOURDOUGH is my FAVE! 🙂 Also, Art-is-in Bakery (here in Ottawa) has fantastic bread; all breads and treats here are good!

  12. Tom S says:

    I had a sesame encrusted bread from Tartine in SF that made me cry : )

Leave a Reply

