Last Fresh Wheat Experiment

It’s been a while. Summer in Cape Cod always distracts me, how could you not be?


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I have a bunch of posts just sitting on my computer waiting for me to put them out there. I’ll start with my fresh wheat experiments. If you read the flour section in bread facts, I had 3 experiments with my fresh wheat. Using it within 24hours, soaking the flour and now oxidizing the flour.

I ground up fresh wheat and then put it in a jar in the fridge. Everyday I’d stir it a little to get some air in there and did that for 3 weeks.

Then I ground some fresh wheat again and made 2 little loaves, one with fresh and one with the 3 week old flour. The information I found was that either you use it in 24-72 hours or it would lose it’s elasticity. If that were the case, you’d then oxidize for at least a couple of weeks so the gluten would become strong. I guess technically I should have made a bread from a week and half old wheat so I could test that theory too.. hmm next time!

So my observations:

The wheat looked pretty much the same. Oxidizing flour should make it a lighter colour but I didn’t really notice anything.. the one on the left is fresh just milled flour.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I made them exactly the same: same starter..

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

same mixing, kneading and placing them in the fridge for overnight rising.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The 3 week old wheat actually had a harder time absorbing the water, it was slightly watery around the edges of the dough.. the one on the right being the 3 week flour.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I didn’t see any difference in the height of rising or even the ovenspring. They looked pretty much the same..


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

However, there was a taste difference. The fresh wheat had a slightly nuttier taste but a bitter aftertaste. The 3 week old wheat was a tiny bit more mellow and had no after taste whatsoever. I’m not sure which one I like more.. The no after taste was actually nice..


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This entry was posted in Baking, random, Wheat and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

