Anadama

My friend wanted me to make this bread a while ago. So I finally got some time to do it! It turned out pretty good.

Anadama is a new england bread, it showed up around 1850 in Rockport, Mass. Local fishermen used to bake it and the name supposedly comes from this story: ” A local fisherman came home everyday to find his wife making cornmeal and molasses for dinner. He got so bored of it, one night he mixed flour and yeast and baked it, while saying ” Anna, damn her.” The bread was so good, the neighbours started to bake it and called in Anadama bread.

I made this from the Bread Baker’s Apprentice. Anadama is, as from the story, made from cornmeal and molasses. I started with a cup of cornmeal


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
then I soaked it overnight


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I mixed it in with flour, beer yeast starter, molasses, shortening and couple of other ingredients, including beer grain of course!


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
I let it rise


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
then I shaped it into 3 loaves


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So I let it sit for hours and hours and it wouldn’t rise! It might have been the humidity, maybe I didn’t knead it enough.. I’m not sure. A lot of my breads aren’t turning out great this summer so I’m guessing it might be the heat. I stuffed them in the fridge and took them out the next morning. They actually started to rise again.

I sprinkled some cornmeal on top of the loaves


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Then I baked the loaves.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

They turned out good! They were surprisingly moist. Cornmeal always scares me because all those corn bread and muffins I’ve tried turn out dry most of the time.

It’s amazing toasted with butter I have to say.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This entry was posted in Baking, Savory and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

